Computer muzic

Something between electronic repair workshop and an eccentric party in former Eastern Germany´s research institute. Something between an extraterrestrial bar band and a lethargic videogame. Half way between scrapheap of the past and juiceless rubbish of modern times. Something between profanation of a cult machine and a tear shed over the imperfection of its beginnings.

Authors, artists, info:

Prepared by:

Freudl, Hybler, Kropáček, Singer, Smolík, Švábová, Procházka


50 min

onstage chill-out, no language barrier

Supported by:

Motus, o.s. – production of ALFRED VE DVOŘE theatre /Prague/

Music for disconnected computers accompanied by 8-bit game projections and game consoles.

Unplugged computer music accompanied by an 8bit games projection and game consoles. The performance represents the first part of an independent trilogy "Memory" dedicated to the examination of sources of public memory. In this case, the primary concern is the memory of technology, machines, a short period of information technology evolution and various application of IT in show business. The performance also casts an absurd light on the computer as a present-day instrument for music production.

Music and sound is created on dissected PCs, 8-bit computer cassette tape memories, video games, floppy disks, Didaktik M and various electronic scrap parts.

„The performance COMPUTER MUSIC brilliantly stresses miscellaneous clichés concerning electronic music production."

Petr Ferenc, hisVOICE

The performance accompaigns the B4 music ensemble:


was formed in 1998 by Tomáš Procházka, since its inception, the out.t has worked closely with HANDA GOTE on all of its projects. Tomáš Procházka is active in the band as player on various guitars, bass-guitar and samplers, and as vocalist. The formation´s other members are multiinstrumentalist David Freudl, and Leoš Kropáček on drums. B4 describe their style as psychedelic krautrock. It tends towards ambient music and minimalism, with various intentionally centrifugal elements.

Tomáš Procházka - electric guitar, ebow, electronics

David Freudl - piano, keyboards, electronics

Leoš Kropáček - drums, objects